Xmas Part 2 – Christmas Day Party On The Beach

See Part 1 Xmas Eve for a wee bit of context

IMG_8768.jpg

I’m not particularly precious about Christmas being cold and wintery.  In truth, I was ridiculously excited for the idea of a party on a hot beach and was hoping for a proper Spring Break-esque party atmosphere.

I was fearing a lonesome Christmas before coming out to Australia – not knowing who I would know, where I would live etc. so had tentatively planned to volunteer at a homeless charity if all else fails.

However, as events unfolded, I had a place to live, started to know people in the area and therefore and a bit of a plan.  I wanted  to make my own plans independently from the flat- not to be antisocial but because they hadn’t organised anything yet and I wanted to get something confirmed rather than wait around, and the faithful Australia Backpackers Facebook page heralded yet again (see this heartwarming tale of the wonders of social media).

A lass (who has her own blog here – highly recommended) organised a meetup … and having felt pretty bummed out the night before, I cannot lie but something as simple as having a few beers with a group of British folk was utterly, utterly wonderful.  

IMG_8734.jpg

I always maintained I’d avoid clinging onto other British immigrants (we are NOT expats) but I can begin to understand why communities in all countries form in this way.  The warm feeling of familiarity is really nice and it helps that the group are full of fucking awesome people.

We basically just meet up, have drinks, hit the beach, get food and carry on drinking.  And it’s the best thing ever.  

We hang with other groups.  We find a huge conga line / party around a Hare Krishna group and when  a mate of mine from back home from when we both played in the UK / London punk scene bumps into is it only makes things ten times awesome.  We then find another Sydney based London friend and her group and come the end there’s a good 30 or so of us just having the best time ever.  It’s the sort of memory that’ll last a lifetime.

(shoutout matey boy with his yellow shorts and legs wide open in the final picture,)

But what goes up must come down

It gets dark fairly early in Sydney and the sun sets super fast.  With this many of us all together, the group splits as some head back to the city and others of us want to find bars in the area for a few more drinks.  

This isn’t easy.

It’s amazing how quickly a day that’s possibly the funnest Christmas yet can go Pete Tong so quickly.  The heavens open and whilst we are treated to a beautiful rainbow, a smaller group of us are trying to find somewhere to drink and keep the party vibe going. 

Everywhere is closed, except one place and after a lengthy queue we’re turned away and it just totally kills the buzz.  

I head home where the flat are just chilling out, not really up for going out…but I really want to go somewhere.  I have a quick shower and decide to just go for a late night stroll – in the rain.  If there’s a bar open then great, I can share a berverage with locals / travellers but if not, I can have a self-reflective walk by the ocean in my first Christmas away from family.  Not sure if that’s laughably tragic or poignant or what but hey ho it’s something I needed to do.  

As you’re reading this I’m fully aware this is really not that bad.  People are alone, starving, homeless, mourning a loved one.  Communities in the North of England are currently flooded and so I must maintain I am totally aware I am not suffering or feeling hard done by.  It’s just negative feelings and sad emotions are simply amplified a touch when you’re alone on the other side of the World on Christmas day, that’s all.

It was nice to see Bondi at night and be alone with my thoughts, but after the ridiculously amazing afternoon I had had, it just felt like a sad way to end the day.  I’m not after sympathy here.  And part of me feels a bit uncomfortable writing this and being so open on the internet.   But I think it’s important to do so.

I have alluded to a common observation in another blog post – it’s so easy to look at someones Facebook / Instagram timeline and presume they’re leading the best life.   I’m receiving many messages from friends / aquaintances / well wishers saying I look like I’m having the best time and they’re jealous.

Yes, overall this is a brilliant experience and I expected many more lows than I have had up to this point.  But regardless, Christmas Night is one of those where I’m feeling a bit blue and like it’s a struggle.  However, if this is the lowest I feel on this trip, I’m immensely lucky.

I only write this so you can understand these travels aren’t just unlimited beach fun and party times.  Days like today make you feel incredibly lonely.  And I’m really grateful to be experiencing this, as I know immense highs will follow again soon.

 

2 thoughts on “Xmas Part 2 – Christmas Day Party On The Beach

Leave a comment